In love with night.

27 Jun

She had a lovely airy voice with crisp consonants supported by her sweetness and an earnestness that gave her simplicity a great depth and unusual gravitas. She was simple. All week long, whenever I asked her what she wanted to be in ten years’ time, she told me, brightly, “A cosmetologist,” and I responded every time, “Cosmology is so exciting; I love looking at the stars, but we can’t see them here in Manhattan because they are usually all in rehab,” and her poor head would spin off her neck. But she was the only student out of forty who asked me how I was feeling every day when all her peers merely complained about their own feet. And at the airport, she seemed to nearly cry as we hugged goodbye. So as she rounded the corner towards her gate I yelled after her, “I’ll come to Kansas for a haircut in ten years!” and she looked back and said, simply, “Oh, you KNEW!”

And tonight, I miss her, the kind girl from Kansas with the sweet and simple voice.

2 Responses to “In love with night.”

  1. Kim Crow June 27, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

    Shatters the heart with it sweetness, NC. Thank you so much for sharing your gifts with us all.

    • NC Coot June 27, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

      People like you, you remind me of my good heart.

Leave a Reply

