Dacota.

25 Oct

‘Dacota’ lives with his grandfather in a trailer in Idaho. Something befell his mom involving drugs and alcohol. Something terrible. Someone whispered ‘gun.’ He broke my heart. ‘Dacota’ spells his name wrong, poor little knucklehead. Or his drug-addled mother did so on his birth certificate. He has a dog that only a little boy could love, some hideous mange-y thing that looks like someone shot his face off. Truly. One wonders.

‘Dacota’ became rather attached to me on a tour over a year ago. He wouldn’t leave my side and became kind of protective of me as well, making New Yorkers, New Yorkers no less, clear a path on the sidewalk as we passed. He was a bit of a bully for a gnome, but he’d turn to me at three feet nothing with his little freckled face all tall as possible and proud of his misdemeanors like one of Hal Roach’s Little Rascals.

‘Dacota’ sends me a message via my public Facebook page like clockwork once a month.

“I miss you lots.” “Yes, I’ll study.” Yeah, I have a cool Halloween costume.” And again, always, “I miss you lots.”

Yes. ‘Dacota’ broke my heart.

Until today when ‘Dacota’s’ Facebook page read:

In a Relationship with Diana.

Even that little gnome with the fucked-up dog is in a relationship, dammit. You’re on your own, ‘Dacota’…

2 Responses to “Dacota.”

  1. Roger October 25, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    There’s hope for us all! And she spells her name correctly, no less.

    • NC Coot October 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm #

      There’s hope for us all? I’m running out for toothpaste…

Leave a Reply

